PLDA Establishing Logo v3.jpg
PLDA Enhancing Logo v3.jpg
PLDA Outstanding Logo v3.jpg

The Primary Languages Development Award enables primary schools to evaluate, strengthen and celebrate their MFL provision.

Schools can achieve Establishing, Enhancing or Outstanding awards

To achieve a Primary Languages Development Award schools follow a simple process of self–assessment and evidence
gathering supported by our primary languages mentor and submit this online to our Primary Languages VLE.

Assessment Criteria

  • School Improvement Planning (SIP)
  • Subject Coordination
  • Staff training and CPD
  • Teaching and learning of MFL
  • Tracking and assessment
  • Links abroad
  • Transition to KS3

Application requirements

  • Any school can apply for our Primary Languages Development Award
  • Purchase online or complete our online Order Form
  • Schools must complete a baseline primary languages questionnaire
  • The Primary Languages Development Award can be renewed annually and costs:

Standard price  £225 (for non-members)

PLN School member price £150


You will need to provide evidence that you can meet the requirements of all criteria for each level of award.  The award levels are cumulative (therefore to apply for the Enhancing award, the criteria for the Establishing award must also be met).